View Details

Views play a central role in TrendHub. A TrendHub View is the collection of everything that is visualized on the current chart. This collection includes the following:

  • All active tags and their settings (visualized or hidden, scale and color setting, group settings)
  • Visualisation mode (trend, stacked trend or multiscatter)
  • The configuration of the chart (e.g. gridlines enabled/disabled, trendline filling enabled/disabled)
  • Time frame of the focus chart and the context chart
  • All active sublayers and their state (visualized or hidden)
  • Lock state of the focus chart
  • Live mode enabled or disabled
  • Active data scooters
  • Added filters and their state (enabled or disabled)
  • Added fingerprints (visualized or hidden)

At any time, views can be saved, updated, opened or shared, which will be explained in the current article.

Saving views

When starting a new TrendHub session, a new view is created and shown as ”New view” in the view bar. Once the current view is saved or when starting from a saved view, the name of that view will be indicated in the view bar. 

Follow the steps below to save a view:

  1. Add tags or attributes to your view (e.g. through the tag and asset browser) and see them displayed in the focus chart. Customise the chart to your liking (set time frame, chart configuration, tag settings, ...)
  2. Click on the "Actions" button situated top right of the focus chart and select "Save as" in the dropdown.

View1.png

  1. A "Save view" panel will appear from the right side of the screen. Fill out the open fields and choose a location to save your view.
  2. Click the "Save view" button. The name of the saved view will now be indicated in the view bar.

View2.png

View3.png

View properties

The time frame that will be visualized when opening a saved view in a later stage depends on the view type, which is defined by the state of the live mode button and the lock state of the focus chart.

The following table explains how the state of the live mode and the lock determines the type of view.

View type

Live mode state

Lock state

Historical view

Disabled

No influence

Live mode fixed time span

Enabled

Closed

Live mode fixed start

Enabled

Open

The picture below explains conceptually how the view type will affect the visualized time frame when opening the view. t0 represents the moment the view was saved, while t1 represents the moment the saved view is opened. The time frames of the sublayers will be altered in the same way.

View4.png

Historical views are useful whenever you want to snapshot a specific event. Live mode views are typically used for daily follow-ups to make sure the most recent data is always visualized.

Note: Saved views can be added to DashHub views. The view type will again determine which time frame will be visualized on the dashboard.

Loading views

Saved views can be accessed from various locations.

  • From the "Saved view" option in the menu bar. This opens a right-side panel of the work organizer, filtered on the TrendHub View type.
  • From the Work Organizer link on the call to action when there are no active tags. This opens the same right-side work organizer panel.
  • From the work organizer itself, which can be found in the top bar.

The followings steps explain how to load a view, starting from the "Saved view" option in the menu bar. Except for the initial opening of the work organizer, all steps are exactly the same, regardless of where you start from.

To load a view, follow these steps:

  1. Click on "Saved views" in the TrendHub menu SL1.png. A "VIEWS" panel will open left of the focus chart.
  2. Click on the "Work organizer" located within the VIEWS panel. This action will open the side panel of the work organizer, filtered on the TrendHub View type.view5.png
  3. Select the view you wish to open and click on the "Open view" button. A details panel will open for the chosen view containing all info of the saved view.view6.pngview7.png
  4. Select the load action that needs to be performed in the loading preference section and click "Load view" to execute the loading action.
    1. Replace current view: Everything that is currently on the screen will be removed and all settings of the saved view will be loaded.
    2. Only tags and/or attributes: The current visualized time frame and layers will remain unchanged. The tags of the saved view will be added to the current active tag list.
    3. Layers only: The current visualized time frame, layers and active tags will remain unchanged. The layers of the saved view will be added as additional sublayers.

view8.png

Note: If tags or attributes within a view you are trying to load have been deleted, your view will still load. However, you will get a warning message telling you that not all tags or attributes have been loaded. The tags or attributes not loaded will be highlighted in the warning.

Note2: The maximum number of active tags is 35. When selecting the option "Only load tags and/or attributes", it is possible this limit will be crossed. In this case, TrendMiner will cancel the opening action.

Updating saved views

Updating the content of a view

The name of a currently opened view is indicated in the view bar. As soon as any changes are performed (e.g., visualized time frame is altered, new tags are added, ...), TrendMiner will indicate that the view contains unsaved changes.

Click on the "Actions" button and select "Save" in the dropdown to save the applied changes. Select "Save as" to save the current visualisation as a new view.

view9.png

Editing view details

Editing the name, description and location of the view can be done using the "Edit details" action in the view bar

  1. Click on the "Actions" button located at the top right of the focus chart.
  2. Click edit details. A view panel will open from the right.
  3. Edit the fields as necessary.
  4. Click "Edit view".

Note: If you have updated your view, be sure to save these updates first by clicking on the "Actions" button situated top right of the focus chart and clicking on the "Save" option before editing the view's details.

How to share views

A view can be shared in 2 ways:

  • By sharing the saved view via the Work Organizer
  • By creating a shareable link

To learn how to share your work through the Work Organizer, read the work orgnanizer article here. A view that is shared through the Work Organizer will always reflect the current state of that view.

A shareable link, on the other hand, is a static reference to everything that was visualized at the time the link was created. Future changes are not considered. A shareable link can also be created for non-saved views.
To create a shareable link, click "Actions" and select "Get shareable link" in the dropdown. You can easily copy the link from the pop-up window.

View10.png

Note: All details about a view, tags, attributes, colors, scalers, shifts, groups, selected focus periods, layers as well as graphical displays (incl. Chart settings), except for possible included items (filters, and fingerprints) are included within a shareable link.

Views created using the shareable link option are stored for up to two years. When the link is not used within 2 years, the URL becomes invalid.

Enjoying TrendMiner? Share your experience to help the community.
Rate TrendMiner