ContextHub - Permission on types

What is permission on types?

This option lets administrators define permission levels for each context type.

Why use permissions?

Different context types are required by different users depending on departments and processes. This leads to the need for context types to become accessible dependant on role within the company.

When creating new types in ContextHub everyone gets write permissions to the type by default. There are two types of access rights; write and delete. Write gives someone the ability to create or update context items of the selected  type. Delete provides the user the option to delete a type, whilst maintaining the right to create and update the context item type.

The principle is that end users will have the right to read and maintain types, but only managers or team leads can delete a type. 

Note: Without any permission on the type you can not create or update context items based on it.

Note: With permission to write on the type you can edit previous items (i.e. all content on the item). You will not be able to delete the item.

How to provide permission on types

1. Create a new context type in the normal way.

2. Identify your type row on the ContextHub grid, and click the three vertical dots situated far right of the row.

3. Click on "Edit permissions".

Permission_in_types_1.png

4. Type in the name of user under "ITEM PERMISSIONS". 

5. Select between "Write" or "Delete" options.

Permission_on_types_2.png

6. Click on the plus button.

Note: Deleting a type means a soft delete. ie a new type with the same name will not be possible.

In addition to permission rights, approval rights on content can also be managed. Look to this document for further information.